Primary care practices can now apply to participate in new CPC+ model

Primary care practices in 14 regions can now apply to participate in the government’s Comprehensive Primary Care Plus (CPC+) program, the largest-ever initiative to improve primary care in the U.S.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services said in an announcement today that it was opening the application period for participation in the new primary care model. CPC+, which builds on the Comprehensive Primary Care initiative that launched in 2012, is a five-year primary care medical home model that begins in January 2017.

The model will enable primary care practices to care for patients in the way they think will deliver the best outcomes and the government will pay them for achieving results and improving care, CMS said in the announcement. The agency estimates that up to 5,000 practices could participate in the model.

Free Daily Newsletter

Like this story? Subscribe to FierceHealthcare!

The healthcare sector remains in flux as policy, regulation, technology and trends shape the market. FierceHealthcare subscribers rely on our suite of newsletters as their must-read source for the latest news, analysis and data impacting their world. Sign up today to get healthcare news and updates delivered to your inbox and read on the go.

The application is open to practices of diverse sizes, structures and ownership interested in qualifying for the additional incentive payment available for Advanced Alternative Payment Models under implementation of the Medicare Access and  CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA).

CMS chose 14 regions to participate based on payer interest and coverage, as CPC+ is a multi-payer model involving Medicare, state Medicaid agencies, and private insurance companies who will partner to support primary care practices. Eligible practices may apply through September 15 to participate.

The 14 regions selected to participate include:

  • Arkansas: Statewide
  • Colorado: Statewide
  • Hawaii: Statewide
  • Kansas and Missouri: Greater Kansas City region
  • Michigan: Statewide
  • Montana: Statewide
  • New Jersey: Statewide
  • New York: North Hudson-Capital region
  • Ohio: Statewide and Northern Kentucky region
  • Oklahoma: Statewide
  • Oregon: Statewide
  • Pennsylvania: Greater Philadelphia region
  • Rhode Island: Statewide
  • Tennessee: Statewide

CPC+ represents the future of primary care in the U.S, said Patrick Conway, M.D., CMS deputy administrator and chief medical officer, in the announcement.  “As a key part of CPC+, CMS and partner payers are committed to supporting primary care practices of all sizes, including small, independent, and rural practices,” he said.

CMS in June decided to tweak the program to allow shared savings accountable care organizations to participate.

- read the announcement


Suggested Articles

A judge has dismissed the ongoing case between Oscar Health and Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida over broker arrangements.

Expanding options for dental care in Medicare is a popular idea, but policymakers could take several avenues toward this goal, a new analysis shows.

Tennessee's proposal for a block grant brings a host of questions.