Healthcare spending now in the hands of complete debt committee

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi yesterday named the final three members of debt "super committee," reports the New York Times. Reps. Xavier Becerra (D-Calif.), James Clyburn (D-S.C.), and Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), who all have opposed cuts to the Medicare and Medicaid programs, now will play a vital role in how future healthcare dollars are spent. Although Clyburn helped to pass the Obama administration's healthcare reform law as the House Democratic whip in 2009-10, he recently told The State that he would be open to a super committee plan that would cut payments to doctors and hospitals, but not beneficiaries, according to iWatch News.

Suggested Articles

The profit margins and management of Community Health Group raise questions about oversight of managed care insurers.

Financial experts are warning practices about the pitfalls of promoting medical credit cards to their patients.

A proposed rule issued by HHS on Tuesday would expand short-term coverage, a move Seema Verma said will have "virtually no impact" on ACA premiums.