CMS explains how it arrives at its hospital star ratings


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services explained how it arrived at the 2016 star ratings in a report describing its methodology for calculating overall hospital quality.

The ratings, which measure hospitals on a five-star scale, took into consideration 113 measures of inpatient and outpatient quality, according to the report. The data are derived from the the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) survey.

CMS grouped quality measures in seven categories, weighted by importance. The categories and their weighting are: mortality (22 percent), safety of care (22 percent), readmissions (22 percent), patient experience (22 percent), effectiveness of care (4 percent), timeliness of care (4 percent) and efficient use of medical imaging (4 percent).

CMS is also letting acute care hospitals peek at their upcoming hospital star ratings, at least through Feb. 14, before the ratings are added to the Hospital Compare consumer website in April.

The ratings have varied widely since debuting in April 2015. Initially, only 7 percent of the nearly 3,500 ranked hospitals received a five-star rating, as FierceHealthcare reported. The biggest chunk of hospitals, 40 percent, received three stars.

But an update in July showed that the number of hospitals receiving five-star ratings more than doubled. In October, the number of five-star hospitals tumbled to 207, below the 251 initially reported in April.

To learn more:
- download the report (.pdf)
- here's where hospitals can preview their ratings



Suggested Articles

Telehealth company Amwell saw its stock spike 42% in its first day of trading Thursday after raising an outsized initial public offering.

A new report outlines major telehealth policy recommendations but one physician group says the changes don't go far enough to support doctors.

Two technology companies are working on rapid COVID-19 antigen tests that can be performed by people at home without involving a laboratory.