New Officers to Lead California Society of Anesthesiologists

Peter E. Sybert, MD Elected as President for 2013-2014 Term

New Officers to Lead California Society of Anesthesiologists

Landis Communications, Inc.Gretchen Krueger, 925-914-0102orVPE PRMaricela Cueva, 626-403-3200 ext. 215

The (CSA) today announced the election of to president for the 2013-2014 term at its House of Delegates annual meeting May 18 and 19 in Los Angeles. As president of the CSA, Dr. Sybert is responsible for managing the overall affairs of the CSA, in keeping with its mission of promoting the highest standards of the profession of anesthesiology. He will work with CSA committees and the executive team to improve the welfare of the public through the medical specialty of anesthesiology and also will further the goals and activities of the CSA.

“It is an honor and privilege to serve as president of the California Society of Anesthesiologists,” said Peter E. Sybert, M.D. “As a long standing member of the Society, I believe strongly in the CSA mission. It’s about our future and continuing to ensure quality patient care and patient safety.”

A board certified anesthesiologist, Dr. Sybert has more than thirty years of experience. He has been a member of the CSA for the last 29 years. Dr. Sybert has held other positions within the CSA including treasurer and chair of finance and administration. Dr. Sybert practices with the Anesthesia & Analgesia Medical Group Inc. in Santa Rosa and is affiliated with several hospitals in Sonoma County. Dr. Sybert graduated from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1979. He completed his residency and fellowship at UC San Francisco in 1982 and 1983 respectively. Dr. Sybert is a resident of Santa Rosa.

The CSA also elected three additional officers for the 2013-14 term: Dr. Paul Yost, president-elect; Dr. Mark Zakowski, chair of the Legislative and Practice Affairs Division (LPAD); and Dr. Jeffrey Poage, LPAD vice-chair for legislative affairs.

President-elect, , practices adult and pediatric anesthesiology at St. Joseph’s Hospital of Orange, where he is Director of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, and at Children's Hospital of Orange County, where he is past president of the medical staff. He is a physician with Allied Anesthesia. Dr. Yost will work closely with Dr. Sybert on membership, patient welfare and the practice of anesthesiology.

is chair of the Legislative and Practice Affairs Division. As chair, he will lead efforts with regulatory and legislative agencies as well as third party organizations to create and improve conversations, information and laws affecting the practice of anesthesiology as well as practice education and tools for members. Dr. Zakowski has been Chief of Obstetric Anesthesiology in California and New York. He practices at Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles and is creator of The Safe Baby System and author of the critically acclaimed educational book for the public, .

Jeffrey Poage, MD, is the LPAD Vice-Chair for legislative affairs. He will assist Dr. Zakowski in reaching the objectives of the Division. Dr. Poage specializes in pediatric anesthesiology and is a member of Medical Anesthesia Consultants in Northern California. He is Medical Director for Pediatric Surgical Services at John Muir Health. Dr. Poage also serves on the Governing Board of the Lucille Packard Children's Hospital John Muir Health Partnership.

The California Society of Anesthesiologists is a physician organization dedicated to promoting the highest standards of the profession of anesthesiology to foster excellence through continuing medical education and to serve as an advocate for anesthesiologists and their patientsFor more information, please visit the CSA online at

MEDIA, PLEASE NOTE: To request an interview, high-resolution photography and/or additional information, please contact Gretchen Krueger at or 925-914-0102 or Maricela Cueva at or (626) 403-3200 ext. 215.