Executives from Leading Providers Appointed to Premier Healthcare Alliance Committees Collaborating to Improve Quality and

CHARLOTTE, N.C.--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- The Premier healthcare alliance board of directors has named leaders from five top U.S. not-for-profit hospitals and health systems to a pair of stockholder committees that provide strategic oversight to the alliance.

The Group Purchasing and Member Relations (GPMR) Committee and the Quality Improvement Committee (QIC), with expert executives from 35 Premier members and outside representation from the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, serve in an advisory capacity to Premier's board of directors.

The committees play vital roles in setting direction for the alliance, which serves more than 2,500 hospitals and 72,000-plus other healthcare providers, by collaborating with members to provide high-quality, cost-effective care. They also promote transparency within the healthcare industry while offering advice and support on legislative and regulatory policy positions.

"Dedication from members is integral to the success of the alliance overall," said Susan DeVore, Premier's president and CEO. "As health reforms continue to take effect, input and collaboration from these alliance leaders helps to further our efforts in transforming healthcare to improve community health.”

Appointed by the Premier board of directors as new members of the GPMR Committee are:

  • Diane Ashley, president and CEO, Seagate Alliance LLC, Rochester, N.Y.;
  • Thomas Burke, M.D., executive vice president and physician-in-chief, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston;
  • Steven Mickus, chief operating officer, Catholic Health Partners, Cincinnati; and
  • Terry Shaw, executive vice president, chief financial officer /chief operations officer, Adventist Health System, Winter Park, Fla.

Appointed by the Premier board of directors as a new member of the QIC is:

  • Ron Paulus, M.D., president and CEO, Mission Health System, Asheville, N.C.

Other members of the GPMR Committee include: Joann Anderson, president and CEO, Southeastern Regional Medical Center, Lumberton, N.C.; Katherine Arbuckle, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Bon Secours Health System Inc., Marriottsville, Md.; Robert Carmen, president and CEO, Adventist Health, Roseville, Calif.; Dennis Dahlen, senior vice president and chief financial officer, Banner Health, Phoenix; John Knox, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.; Michael Nagowski, CEO, Cape Fear Valley Health System, Fayetteville, N.C.; James Oliver, president and CEO, Yankee Alliance Inc., Andover, Mass.; Marvin O'Quinn, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Catholic Healthcare West, San Francisco; Thomas Rockers, president and CEO, St. Anthony's Medical Center, St. Louis; Tracy Rogers, vice president and corporate chief operating officer, Alexian Brothers Health System, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Steven Sonenreich, president and CEO, Mount Sinai Medical Center, Miami Beach, Fla.; and Barry Steichen, executive vice president, chief administrative officer and chief financial officer, Saint Francis Health System, Tulsa, Okla.

Other members of the QIC include: Maureen Bisognano, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Cambridge, Mass.; Michael Bryant, president and CEO, Methodist Medical Center, Peoria, Ill.; Robert Colones, CEO, McLeod Regional Medical Center, Florence, S.C.; Jane Crowley, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Catholic Healthcare Partners, Cincinnati; John Currin, CEO, Alamance Regional Medical Center, Burlington, N.C.; Rhonda Forsyth, president and CEO, John C. Lincoln Health Network, Phoenix; Warren Green, president and CEO, Lifebridge Health, Baltimore; Norman Gruber, president and CEO, Salem Hospital, Salem, Ore.; Robert Issai, CEO, Daughters of Charity Health System, Los Altos Hills, Calif.; Stephen Mason, president and CEO, BayCare Health System, Clearwater, Fla.; Margaret Naleppa, president and CEO, Peninsula Regional Medical Center and Health System, Salisbury, Md.; John Porter, president and CEO, Avera Health, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Marlon Priest, M.D., chief medical officer, Bon Secours Health System, Marriottsville, Md.; Roger Ray, M.D., executive vice president and chief medical officer, Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.; Valinda Rutledge, president and CEO, CaroMont Health, Gastonia, N.C.; William Thompson, president and chief operating officer, SSM Health Care, St. Louis.; and Mark Tolosky, president and CEO, Baystate Health, Springfield, Mass.

About the Premier healthcare alliance, Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recipient

Premier is a performance improvement alliance of more than 2,500 U.S. hospitals and 72,000-plus other healthcare sites using the power of collaboration to lead the transformation to high quality, cost-effective care. Owned by hospitals, health systems and other providers, Premier maintains the nation's most comprehensive repository of clinical, financial and outcomes information and operates a leading healthcare purchasing network. A world leader in helping deliver measurable improvements in care, Premier works with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and the United Kingdom's National Health Service North West to improve hospital performance. Headquartered in Charlotte, N.C., Premier also has an office in Washington. http://www.premierinc.com. Stay connected with Premier on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


Premier healthcare alliance
Alven Weil, 704-816-5797
[email protected]

KEYWORDS:   United States  North America  California  District of Columbia  Illinois  North Carolina  Pennsylvania

INDUSTRY KEYWORDS:   Practice Management  Health  Hospitals  Other Health  Managed Care